A Fantastic, Quiet and wonderful place to recharge the batteries. What a fantastic place to stay. We enjoyed our weekend away out of the city and boy did Yering Gorge Cottages nail it. We definately left fully recharged and totally relaxed. Brilliantly quiet and surrounded by wildlife.” – barrynjulies2015 (Trip Advisor – May, 2021)



The Yarra Valley is located just 50km from Melbourne, the closest towns being Yarra Glen and Lilydale. The other main towns of the region are Healesville, Warburton, Yarra Junction, Seville, Wandin and Marysville.

Recognised as one of the world’s great wine growing regions with over 70 wineries, the Yarra Valley – also known as Melbourne’s ‘food and wine playground’ offers visitors even more with tall ancient forests, ferny gullies, wildlife and grazing pastures.

The Yarra Valley is made up of flowing hills and valleys, some slopes can be very steep, others more gentle. The Dividing Ranges boarder the North and East of the Yarra Valley, whilst the Dandenong Ranges sit to the South and the Plenty Ranges to the West.

The famous Yarra River runs right through the Yarra Valley, beginning in the Yarra Ranges National Park and flowing through the Eastern suburbs of Melbourne to Melbourne’s CBD before entering Port Phillip Bay in Port Melbourne.


The Yarra Valley is considered a cool climate region, the temperature is usually mild and consistant. Spring is the wettest time with the most rain falling during this month, the cooler months also see considerable rainfall. The summers are usually dry.

Even though the Yarra Valley is just 50km from Melbourne, the weather conditions can be considerably different, with higher rainfall towards Warburton and temperatures slightly more extreme at both ends of the scale. During winter, temperatures of below zero are common in the mornings and throughout the summer months of December – February, temperatures of 35+ degrees Celsius are often seen. 


The Yarra Valley has a population of approximately 40,000 people. 

Time Zone

The Yarra Valley is located in Australian Eastern Standard time. The Standard time zone is UTC/GMT +10 hours. The commencement date of daylight saving time varies year-to-year and adds +1 hour to the time. 



Back to Top